Product reviews for Henna Hair Color Kit

Existing reviews
amazing result
I am originally dark brunette, now with almost 80% white hair, and have been dying my hair for about 20 years with chemical dyes, which have made my hair dull, dry, and my scalp itchy and red. I just recently bought the Renaissance Henna Herbal Hair Colour Kit and tried henna and indigo for the first time, and I must say I am really amazed by the result! The colour came out really beautiful and naturally looking, and my hair feels thicker, smoother and I notice no itching! I mixed henna with orange juice and put to rest for 6 hours, then Indigo with bottled water, then mixed them together (50% henna 50% indigo) +4 spoonfuls of fructose. At first I covered only the roots for 2 hours 20 min, then the rest of the hair with the paste that remained for another 40 min (3 hours total) and the roots were perfectly covered! And no mess at all. I highly recommend new users to do some tests on hair from the hairbrush before application, to understand how it works. This product is really great! I definitely will not use chemical dyes again.
Guest | 16/12/2012 19:18
Was this review helpful? Yes No (14/0)
No going back
I have thick curly hair with a few, but too many, grey hairs. I am naturally dark and always longed for red hair and I dread to think how much I have put my hair through on my quest. Finally I discovered this Henna kit and I will never go back. It is such great value compared with chemical colours I was buying, leaves my hair in great condition and, of course, the gorgeous glow with beautiful red hairlights is my dream come true!
Guest | 17/12/2012 13:10
Was this review helpful? Yes No (10/0)
Amazing!!!
Hi,

I would personally like to thank you for this fantastic product! I have just used the henna/indigo for the 2nd time and again are amazed at the results! My hair is naturally dark brown, but for years have used chemical hair dyes to get a black colour, until recently i became allergic to them so had to stop using them for health reasons, i got given your leaflet with lots of useful information and decided i would give it a try. I got 2 applications out the 1 package so defiantly value for money, and the most amazing shiny healthy hair, i truly believe that since my 1st application (which was beginning of November) my hair is growing more! Only downfall is the long process to apply (over 4 hours) but its defiantly worth it with the outcome. Ill be placing an order again very soon.

Kind Regards Jo :)
Guest | 16/01/2013 22:06
Was this review helpful? Yes No (9/0)
Natural cover for grey
If you are in any doubt that henna/indigo works to cover greys, it definitely does work.  If you want a completely natural, affordable way to cover your grey hair, don't hesitate.  I have naturally dark brown hair with a few greys.  I left the henna on for two hours and then the indigo on for twenty minutes, for a mid-brown finish.  The result is warm-toned, with the greys appearing as reddish highlights.
Carolyn | 05/08/2013 11:37
Was this review helpful? Yes No (8/2)
2nd Review
It is coming up to a year for me using this product, and again i am still very impressed with the colour! I always get compliments on how healthy and shiny my hair looks, and thats even weeks after applying the product. I have not got a bad word possible to say about Henna Hair Color Kit and would definatly recommend everyone to buy it regardless of chemical hair dye allergy's or not! I'm sat with the Indigo on as i type and cant wait to rinse it off and have at least a couple of month of shiny, healthy hair with a gorgeous colour! (darkest brown/black with red/purple undertones) Again thanks Sabrina, i would be so lost without your Henna Kit!

Kinds Regards Jo :)  
JOANNE | 30/08/2013 12:01
Was this review helpful? Yes No (6/0)
Excellent for healthy looking hair
This is a really good kit to go for if you are new to henna and indigo.  The kit comes with a really helpful instruction's booklet which is well written and full of helpful tips and good advice.  If you are new to henna I would highly recommend this kit.  I have been using Henna and indigo for about 5 months and my hair is a lot more healthier, the colour is long lasting and it feels like you're giving your hair a treatment, especially if you have abused it in the past with straighteners or chemical dyes. It's also a lot healthier for you and the environment as you are not dumping nasty chemicals into you or the water supply (which we drink and wash with) and you still get better hair and colour than chemical dyes and treatments.
RK
Rosie | 02/03/2014 23:09
Was this review helpful? Yes No (5/0)
Extremely Pleased
I bought the henna/indigo kit after developing itching & pain etc etc after having my hair coloured at my local hairdressers. (I'd had the same colour & hairdresser for the past 4 years before developing problems). The henna/indigo kit is superb. I followed the instructions closely & have been delighted with the results. I wanted to colour greys at the roots & have found that one application of henna for two hours, followed by indigo for 15minutes cover the grey in my mid dark brown hair, giving a chestnut richness. This lasts well until the roots grow through & so I repeat at about 6weeks. Today I tried Method 2; henna & indigo mixed together & left on for two hours before rinsing & shampooing. Again I'm delighted with the result & will probably go over to using this method in the future. Hopefully the colour will last as long. I have just ordered a second kit so will update/review again later. Many thanks - I'm sticking with this way of colouring my hair. (Am I odd? I love the smell!!)
Guest | 19/05/2014 18:42
Was this review helpful? Yes No (5/0)
over a year on and still more than delighted
I started using Henna and Indigo over a year ago.  I have medium to dark brown long straight hair with quite a lot of greys (maybe 30-40% now).  I had it dyed at the salon for years and although I had no actual reaction to the chemicals I hated putting them on my hair and my hair became gradually more and more leached out and dry, the mid to end section looked bleached unless it had recently been coloured and was frizzy, tangly and dry.  Also if I went my natural darkish colour it looked too dark and artificial against my skin. NOT ANY MORE!  The first Henna and Indigo application was an experience - I was terrified of dropping it onto surfaces and getting orange skin etc and was very unused to colouring my hair as it was previously done in the salon- but actually I need not have worried as within another application or so I became a dab hand at it - I find most of it washes out of the hair towel and certainly wipes off hard surfaces so I don't worry about it now.  As my hair tangles so easily I had a few problems with that initially but have since got a "tangle teezer" brush (which I would highly recommend) and you can get one to use in the bath/shower so I just run through the hair with conditioner in after shampooing the colour out and I don't find I am pulling loads of my hair out anymore.  Back to the Henna/Indigo -   My hair is now glossy and fully of condition - no more frizz.  This stuff does much more than simply colour your hair, it completely repairs it, you see a difference immediately and then over the coming months it gets better and better.  I get compliments about the condition of my hair and the colour.  The other day a nurse who was treating me suddenly stopped mid conversation and blurted out  - "I just love the colour of your hair - it's got gorgeous chestnut lowlights!"  What I do now is apply henna and Indigo in one application every now and again to get a deep colour overall and then in the sessions in between I just use henna which means that the odd greys coming through and some other hairs just take up the reddish chestnut hue and look really natural and  shine in both sun and natural light.  Even when my hair goes quite dark with the indigo - it seems more natural and does not make me look older as the chemical dye would.  For me this has been a fabulous discovery, it's cheaper than salon dyes, infinitely better in colour, and applies a natural treatment at the same time.  No more frizz, no more bleached dry ends.  Furthermore, my husband likes it and says that henna is sexy - and I would not say he has any particular leaning towards bohemian looks - so what more can I ask for?  If you are in doubt, go for it, get this pack to start with as it tells you exactly what to do - after that you can experiment with different quantities of henna and indigo etc.  Don't be put off by the long explanations in the pack - they are really helpful - and don't be frightened by it all - you will love the results and use it forever more......!




Arabella | 17/06/2014 14:37
Was this review helpful? Yes No (7/0)
Thank you for making my return to Henna so easy and well informed
I am delighted with my purchase of the Renaissance Henna and Indigo starter kit, very good value and superb package all round, from the quality of the product to the detailed instructions. Thank you so much for the prompt delivery and professional service I have received. I used your pure henna powder, soaked overnight with water and a little lemon juice on my hair for just over three hours two days ago - I forgot how much I loved the earthy smell and texture of it. The henna has made my regrowth (which was dark brown flecked with grey) go a mid to dark red with coppery strands which and the condition is just great. Still deciding what to do about applying indigo as I am hoping it won't get rid of the lovely ruby glow I have achieved with henna alone. I will definitely be ordering my henna and other products from you in the future and have already made recommendations to several friends.
Guest | 19/03/2015 12:07
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
New satisfied customer
Just wanted to let you know how I got on with my first use of Renaissance Henna. I have been dying my hair with permanent dyes for about 10 years, first dark brown and then the last 2 years with more reddish colours. I'm lucky to have quite thick shiny hair but it was starting to dry out with the repeated 4 weekly dye sessions.

My daughter suggested I tried Henna. I used to use henna when I was younger, bleaching my hair first and then using henna over the top to give vivid bright orange colours. I remember thinking as a teenager how much easier it would be to achieve bright coloured hair when I had grey hair instead of having to bleach it all the time. If only I knew then......... lol. My hair now is about 40 % grey at the sides and front and dark brown at the back and between the grey.

Without even worrying about my pre permanent dyed hair, I bought some Henna from Lush to give it a try. I used their Caca Rouge henna block. As my hair is quite long, I used 2 thirds of the block on the first application. The smell was really strong and lasted for days. I think it smells like pesto sauce, but my daughter says its worse!  I found it quite difficult to get a smooth paste with it and it dried out quickly as I was applying it. I really didn't enjoy the process but the colour was a lovely deep red with dark orange on the roots. My hair did feel lovely afterwards but took about 4 days to stop smelling strongly. When my roots started growing out 3 weeks later I used the rest of the block. I am impressed with the staining power of the Henna on my grey hair.

I did a bit of research and discovered Renaissance Henna and owing to all the good feedback and very helpful information on the website, decided to try the Beginners Henna pack. I tried it out yesterday and was very happy with whole experience. I found the paste easy to mix (I used a balloon whisk to get the smoothest paste I could) and so much easier to apply than the Lush Henna. The smell was much more pleasant and easy to get good coverage. I used just the Henna as I wanted to see how red it came out, and applied it in sections around the front and sides first to make sure all the greys were covered. I then slathered the rest all over my hair and it was really well covered. I used 10 tablespoons of henna powder and my hair is midway down my back. I covered my head with cling film and wrapped it in a towel and used a hairdryer to warm it up. I left it on for 3 hours. When I came to rinse, I rinsed the bulk of it out using the shower attachment and then ran a bath and soaked the rest out. It was a lovely experience and it did make my skin soft too. It felt a more relaxing way of dying my hair than the rushed permanent dyes that burn your nostrils and stain everything. I didn't shampoo yesterday just rinsed and conditioned with my favourite conditioner. I will wash it again today with shampoo and condition again. The colour today is a deep orange red tinge over the brown with dark orange on the greys. I am hoping the red will darken after repeated use as I am trying to achieve more of a deep red than orange but I am very happy with the result and the condition it leaves my hair in.

I am now converted and will use Renaissance Henna from now on. Instead of the monthly chore, dying my hair will now become a relaxing experience with the added excitement of seeing what colour my hair will come out. I've attached a before and after picture for you to see.

Thank you Sabrina for all your helpful information

Update:
I shampooed my hair the next day and the day after that my hair was wonderfully soft. I am very happy with the colour. Sabrina did recommend using some of the indigo to tone down the orange but I love how bright it is.
Sally | 03/10/2015 15:52
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
(white)grey/ginger/dark brown patches on 1 single hair
Dear people at Henna Renaissance
I have been using Henna Renaissance henna and indigo for almost 4 years now to cover my white grey hair and I have been very satisfied by the very natural result and often been complimented on it. I have worn my hair grey for over 10 years, but was no longer comfortable with it since over the years my grey lost most of its shades and had turned white, which terribly aged me (you should know that I am only 49). So I have been applying henna and indigo for over 4 years now. I sometimes leave the indigo in for more than 24 hours and thus sleep with it, only to assure I can achieve the darkest possible result (being born as a brunette). Since I am really, really grey, the result is that the ends of my hear get darker and darker (after every application) while at the roots they are a pale light brown, no matter how long I leave the indigo. This isn't so much of a problem since I have worn short haircuts ever since discovering Henna Renaissance. I used to have a haircut before each application so that there would be fewer darker ends butnow I would like to keep my hair a little bit longer.
What would you suggest to prevent the ends getting darker and darker and the roots too light? Should I have 2 subsequent applications? If so, is it necessary to apply henna again, if, e.g. I just had a henna/indigo application some days before or can I just do the indigo (provided my hair hasn't grown in the meantime and so there are no new greys). Or should I have a partial second application, only covering the lighter parts of my hair (which would imply I have to ask someone else to apply the henna?/indigo since I will not be able to see the lighter parts on the back of my head).
I welcome any ideas on how I might get a better result for I know when I am in an urgent need of a new dye when I have 3 colours on 1 single hair : grey at the roots, ginger on the part where the indigo has worn off and dark brown on the part that has has multiple indigo applications.
Thank you very much for your good work!
Many thanks in advance, Isabelle, Ghent (Belgium)
Isabelle | 06/01/2016 15:34
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Add your review